Three Words

Today I met a girl, only some three years older than me. The whole meeting could be described in these words: kindness, compassion and positivity.

Kindness
This was actually the reason why we’ve met for a cup of coffee. She brought me some materials, which I am (on my own random-acts-of-kindness initiative) collecting for the biggest children’s festival in Slovenia (Pikin festival in Velenje). So, it was a kind gesture from a kind person.

Compassion
We met for the first time, yet we’ve developed a conversation as though we knew each other for years. Looking a bit reserved at the beginning, she proved to be quite the opposite. She opened up very quickly. And her story made me think just how lucky I am … and how unselfish the person sitting next to me is. It also left me feeling helpless. That annoying feeling when you would like to say something to a person that would lift them up … But you just can’t find the right words, because there aren’t any. Any superfluous word could trigger an avalanche of tears, which were already building up in her eyes.

Positivity
Despite the hardships she is going through, I felt a pleasant, positive vibe around her. I enjoyed her company. The past couple of years could have made her bitter – instead she breaths, thinks and speaks positivity. It made me think how sometimes the most easygoing people carry the heaviest burdens. And sometimes a total stranger can help unload some of it. It only takes some kindness, compassion and positivity.

bigstock-Beautiful-woman-carrying-a-sui-30688583

Leave a comment